2017 Church Staff

  • Kenneth D. Taylor


    Greetings! I started here at Saint Nicholas in October of 2016 and was officially installed on January 29, 2017. My family and I (partner and best friend Mandi, McKenna 12, Maddi 10, and Mason 5) just moved here from Strum, Wisconsin, about 30 minutes outside of Eau Claire. I am a graduate of the Cleveland Institute of Music (BM, MM) and a former Music Director at St. Andrew Lutheran in Las Vegas, Nevada. I went to Wartburg Seminary in Dubuque, Iowa with an internship at Prince of Peace, and Beitel Memorial Lutheran churches in San Antonio, TX. Besides being a pastor, I am a member of the Order of Lutheran Franciscans (lutheranfransicans.org) preparing for my Life Profession in the order, hopefully this summer.

    I love spending time with family, reading, listening to and playing music, singing in our amazing choir with our talented and enthusiastic director Tanya, and I enjoy learning about a plant-based, whole food lifestyle. 

    I would love to have you come by and meet us at Saint Nicholas some upcoming Sunday. There are amazing people here who love God, and love people.

    Peace, and stuff ~ brother ken

  • Franklyn "Bonnie" Johnson-Williams

    Director of Music Ministries

    Franklyn Johnson-Williams, known as Bonnie, is one of Sierra Leone’s finest musicians.  His talent in music began at an early age as he performed his trumpet at various local venues with Sierra Leonean legends.   His formal education began at Milton Margai Teacher’s College in Sierra Leone as a Performing Arts student.  Franklyn later attended the prestigious Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama in Scotland, where he earned a Master of Arts Degree in Music Education and advanced level certification from the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM) in jazz, classical trumpet and music literacy. He also established for the first time in the history of the academy, a Gospel Choir. 


    As a multi-instrumentalist, Franklyn has received brass instrument training at the Military Academy of Music in London and has played a wide variety of genres reaching a diverse population. He is well known for his skills on the trumpet. For almost eight years, Franklyn taught in the British and American Schools in the Middle East (Egypt, Qatar & United Arab Emirates) and was the former Manager of Music Professional Learning for the District of Columbia Public Schools (DCPS).


    God has been the center of his life, and he is always seeking for opportunities to give back to the community. He is no stranger to church music; at a very young age he was attracted to the pipe organ and became a chorister in his home church in Freetown, Sierra Leone. Franklyn rose to the position of conductor and assistant choirmaster. As he traveled the world, he has been part of different church denominations, serving God through music. He has a passion to teach and equip youngsters in church who are willing to participate in the ministry of music. He has his own music studio where he provides private instruction for all ages.


    On arrival in the United States, he has worked with various church choirs and provided live music for different occasions, ranging from funerals to birthday dinners. He is a lover of God’s Word and has worked with Youth Ministries, Bible study groups and Worship Arts. 

  • Erika Demme

    Office Administrator

    Erika has been the office administrator since July 2011 and has recently become the bookkeeper as well. She has been married for over 20 years and has two adult children. Erika's family became members of Saint Nicholas in March of 1996. She is actively involved in the Women's Ministry.   In her spare time, she enjoys gardening, bicycling, and reading.

  • Jim Felbinger


    Jim has been a member of Saint Nicholas since March 2005. He chairs the Steps to Serenity meetings on Thursday nights. Outside of church, Jim works as a home improvement carpenter. He has been a proud member of Narcotics Anonymous for twelve years. His hobbies are playing softball, camping, fishing, and watching sports on television.

2017 Church Council

The Congregation Council has general oversight of the life and activities of the congregation, particularly its worship life, to the end that everything is done in accordance with the Word of God and the faith and practice of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The voting membership of the Congregation Council consists of the pastor, the officers, and not more than twelve members of the congregation.

  • Bryan Mullins


    Bryan has been attending Saint Nicholas since 2012. In addition to serving on church council, Bryan coordinates Oktoberfest, plays on the softball team, and updates the website and Facebook page. Bryan teaches English at Huntingtown High School where he also sponsors the mock trial team, acts as the equity team leader, and announces sporting events. In his leisure time, Bryan enjoys swimming, hiking, wine and beer tasting, and watching the Pittsburgh Penguins. 

  • Pam Werner

    Vice President

    Pam has been attending Saint Nicholas since 2009. Pam serves on the church council and volunteers with the church in several ways, including altar care, baking communion bread, and as a presenter for communion. Pam is an attorney working for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) since 1986, first at Headquarters in Washington, DC and, since 2006, at the Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt. Pam and her husband and two children live in Huntingtown and enjoy movies, books, and gardening.

  • Liz Starks


    Liz, her husband, and three sons moved to Huntingtown in December of 2014 and began attending St. Nicholas Lutheran Church at that time. This year Liz began helping with the Sunday school program which includes Time for Children during the church service. Outside of church Liz volunteers at her children's school, Plum Point Elementary. She also enjoys running, camping, and exploring museums with her family.

  • Howard Hogan


  • Michael Williams

    youth Liaison

  • Heidi Bishop

    Worship & Arts Liaison

  • Ken Clark

    Building & Grounds Liaison

    Ken has been a member at Saint Nicholas since 2004. In addition to being on council, Ken sings in the Choir. Ken works at Goddard Space Flight Center in support of both Manned and Unmanned Missions to the International Space Station and Expendable Launch Vehicles and their Payloads. He enjoys spending time with his wife, Kathy, his step-daughter and his three grandchildren. He also enjoys woodworking and model trains.

  • Jamie Flanders

    Social Concerns Liaison

  • Brandon Smith

    Community Life & Outreach Liaison

  • Matthew Taby

    Christian Education Liaison


    Stewardship Liaison

2017 Committees

Audit Committee

Anna Kitzmiller

Vicki Williams

Kris Wood

Facilities and Property

Jim Felbinger--Custodian

Ken Clark--Buildings & Grounds Liaison

Harris Cooper

Sean Demme

Keith Williams

Finance Committee

Howard Hogan--Treasurer

Tom Blatt--Financial Secretary

Bryan Mullins--President

Ken Taylor--Pastor

Ed Aronhalt

Colleen Hyland

Amare Merz

Kris Wood

Nominating Committee

Andre Dangin

Colleen Hyland

Kris Wood

Stewardship Committee

Lauren Wawroski--Stewardship Liaison

Debbie Bang

Tom Blatt

Colleen Hyland

Congregational Activities

Adopt-a-highway:  Vicki Soto

Angel Tree:  Carol Blatt

Blood Drive:  Barbara Harris and Phyllis Tolzmann

Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts:   Walt Merz

Christmas in April:  Keith Williams

Confirmation:  Vicki Williams

Food Pantry:  Carol Blatt

Lunch Bunch:  Barbara Harris

Oktoberfest:  Bryan Mullins

Prayer Team:  Carol Blatt

Project Echo:  Kathy Dangin (Meals) and Bryan Mullins (TP)

Softball:  Tom Blatt

Steps to Serenity:  Jim Felbinger

Sunday School:  Elizabeth Taby

Taste Buds:  Bryan Mullins

Vacation Bible School:  Elizabeth Taby

Youth Group:  Dave Hickin and Amare Merz